Tosny Times - 7 - Collapse of a Currency

๐Ÿ‹ Welcome

๐Ÿจ Here are the things that I have done or discovered this week

3 Pieces of News ๐Ÿ“ฐ

  1. The UK government decided the economy wasn't bad enough and made more bad decisions, contradicting economists and even the Bank of England ๐Ÿ’ท had to take steps against their actions. The government's decisions caused the pound to collapse against the dollar in the short term and even nearly caused a run on pensions ๐Ÿ˜ญ

  2. Russia chose to annex parts of Ukraine after "definitely fair and not corrupt or under duress voting" took place ๐Ÿ”ซ

  3. Protests in Iran ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ท broke out after Mahsa Amini was killed in police custody for not wearing her hijab correctly. The people of Iran clearly have their limits.

What did I do? ๐Ÿถ

  1. I published an article on Medium on the most impactful or important books ๐Ÿ“š that I have ever read HERE

  2. I published an article on Medium about some "Black Sheep" apps ๐Ÿ‘ that are overlooked more than they should be HERE

  3. I then published on Medium on some things I had to build up the courage to spend money ๐Ÿ’ฐ on and nearly regretted ๐Ÿ˜ฌย HERE

What did I discover? ๐Ÿ’ก

  1. That my patience with my iPhone 12 Pro Max has expired. It is just too big and I have been putting up with it for 2 years. iPhone 14 Pro, here we come ๐Ÿ“ฑ

  2. That the National Trust owns and rents out holiday accommodation including some beautifully isolated cottages ๐Ÿก in Wales HERE

  3. That our Corgi ๐Ÿถ๐Ÿพ is a really fast learner. Thank goodness we reserved him before the death of the queen MORE

Property Focus - GBP/USD Comparison๐Ÿก

Due to the ridiculous changes in the GBP/USD I want to show you what that looks like.

5 bedroom, detached, Victorian villa outside of Bath ๐Ÿ›, Somerset, UK. Done to an incredibly high standard outside of a beautiful city. As a result, it is a huge ยฃ2,500,000. If you had converted your $ to ยฃ yesterday to buy this it would have cost around $2,675,000.

If you had done the same in October of last year it would have cost around $3,450,000. A huge $775,000 difference. That is what has happened to the ยฃ over the past 12 months with much of it in the last few weeks.

For comparison in Boulder ๐Ÿชจ, CO we have a huge house with a beautiful view for the same amount once exchanged for USD. Which would you prefer?