• Tosny Digest
  • Posts
  • Tosny Times 17 - A Coup Attempt in Western Europe

Tosny Times 17 - A Coup Attempt in Western Europe

🐋 Welcome

🐨 Here are the things that I have done or discovered this week

3 Pieces of News 📰

  1. Police arrested 👮‍♀️ 25 people in connection with an attempted coup in Germany 🇩🇪, of all places. One of the most democratic countries in the world being the victim of a potential coup is one thing that I did not imagine hearing anytime soon. A German aristocrat 🏰 was supposedly a key member of this unnamed group.

  2. The UK 🇬🇧 entered a serious freeze 🥶 with energy prices at record highs 💰. This is not going to go well for the great majority of the population even if to some it is simply another financial burden to bare.

  3. The son, Ndambi Guebuza, of a former president, Armando Guebuza, of Mozambique 🇲🇿, was sentenced to 12 years in prison over $2.2bn in debt 💸 and corruption offences. These figures seem insane, yet when you consider the power some leaders have taken in some countries, such as Mozambique, they become more realistic.

What did I do? 🐶

  1. Published an article on Medium on the best new feature in Capacities, my favourite 'notes' app 📝 which has a great many features besides.

  2. Published another article on Medium about 7 apps that pushed their way onto my home screen in 2022, ousting 📲some well-established ones.

  3. Read a nice book 📚 set on a remote Scottish 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Island 🏝, always a good setting, called The Whistling by Rebecca Netley.

What did I discover? 💡

  1. I have only just started the TV series Elves on Netflix 📺 but think it is worth a try. The more non-English films and TV I watch, the more I realise I have missed out.

  2. More new features have been added to my favourite new app, Sofa 🛋. Now upgraded to version 3.4 which has added a few nice features but something which is particularly useful is the sharing 👩‍❤️‍👨 features which make date nights even easier instead of spending an hour just to decide what to do.

  3. Audible 📚 🎧 offers pretty good value bulk offers. I cannot believe I am only realising this in December 2022, but for £109.99 you can get 24 credits immediately, working out to around £4.59 each, which can also be used in 2-for-1 offers, making this even better value.

Property Focus - Devon, Devon, Devon 🏡

Devon is the one place that, when British people hear about, they automatically reply with "ooooh, I love Devon". We all do, it is just that nice.

So here is a 5-bedroom mega-property of such interest, view and value that everyone should at least know it exists.